Accused Of Assault? We Will Protect Your Rights.
Texas and Arkansas do not take kindly to anyone accused of assault or domestic violence. Even though the law is supposed to consider you innocent until proven guilty, you may feel as if the justice system has already made up its mind about you.
Friedman Law Office can defend you against these life-altering charges. Since 1977, Friedman Law Office has worked to protect the good names of people throughout Arkansas and Texas. We will defend your right to due process and ensure that the court respects your rights throughout your criminal defense case.
What Are The Consequences For Domestic Abuse Convictions?
Although the laws regarding domestic abuse vary between Texas and Arkansas, both states have severe penalties for a conviction.
Texas has three charges of domestic violence:
- Domestic assault. A first offense is a misdemeanor, while a repeat offense is a felony.
- Aggravated domestic assault, which is automatically a felony.
- Continuous violence against the family, which is a felony.
A misdemeanor offense can result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000, while a felony can result in up to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Domestic abuse charges in Arkansas include:
- First-degree domestic battering, which is a misdemeanor
- Second- and third-degree domestic battering, which are felonies
- Aggravated assault on a family or household member, which is an automatic felony
A misdemeanor could mean up to one year in jail, while a felony could mean up to six years in jail.
Reducing The Stress Of Your Assault Case
We know that trying to cope with your current legal situation probably feels overwhelming, especially if you also have children. Our attorneys shoulder as much of the burden as possible, allowing you to focus on your everyday tasks. In addition, our office is conveniently located in downtown Texarkana, right by the state and federal courthouses and the judicial offices of Texas and Arkansas.
Get A Free Consultation From A Lawyer
You do not have to face these frightening charges alone. Contact Friedman Law Office, and we can begin your defense. To get a free consultation, call 903-949-6364, toll-free at 866-397-4374 or send us an email.